The GSK IMPACT Awards are an annual scheme, funded by GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) as part of the company’s commitment to promoting community health and wellbeing.

The Awards are organised and managed in partnership with the King’s Fund, a leading independent health charity working to improve health and social care.

The Awards recognise and reward small to medium-sized charities in the UK that are doing excellent work to improve people’s health. Charities must have an annual income of between £120,000 and £3 million.

Organisations registered in the UK but working in both Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland can apply.

The Awards recognise excellence in existing work and do not seek to fund new projects. An application which only focuses on a particular project will not be shortlisted. The assessment is based on the work of the whole organisation and the assessment will focus on excellence in the six areas of IMPACT. The judges will be looking for evidence of:

  • Innovation: Leadership, creativity and initiative in addressing current challenges in healthcare access and delivery.
  • Management: Efficient use of resources; quality of management processes; equality of opportunity; clear objectives and plans; strength and financial effectiveness of the organisation.
  • Partnership: Working effectively with others (the community, voluntary, private and public sector partners, etc.); willingness to share ‘best practice’ and to learn from others.
  • Achievement: Scale and impact of work relative to the size of the organisation; impact on access to healthcare; a reflective approach to evaluation; measurement and monitoring of performance; being able to report on outcomes and impact.
  • Community focus: Involving and responding to people and communities; adaptability to changing circumstances and needs; working with others to improve services for the community.
  • Targeting needs: Awareness of community issues and priorities and having a detailed understanding of the community; ensuring services are accessible to all, including people who experience the most disadvantage or marginalisation.

The award prizes have increased in 2021:

  • Up to 10 winners will receive £40,000, with one overall winner receiving an additional £10,000.
  • Up to 10 runners-up will receive £4,000.

Award winners will also be offered training and development valued at an average of £9,500 and have a film made about their work.

The deadline for applications is 20 September 2021 (5pm).


Have a news article you'd
like to share?

Click the link below to submit your article to us

Submit Article